

Oregon Child Support Program

Supporting Parents to Support Children

PO Box 14680 Salem OR 97309 800-850-0228 OregonChildSupport.gov

February 16, 2025



2025 Oregon Child Support Program Annual Notice

Oregon Child Support Program Case Number:

Laws and Rules	Why did I receive this notice and where can I get more information?
	We send this notice each year to everyone with a child support case.* Visit our
	 website OregonChildSupport.gov to find the following: How to sign up for an online account to get specific information about your child support case, including payment information Information about the services we provide* Office locations, hours, and phone numbers Forms and publications Veterans' resources Safety resources
	*If child support is no longer owed but spousal support remains, the services are different than those listed below. Visit OregonChildSupport.gov/spousal for more information about spousal support only services.
	How do I contact the Oregon Child Support Program?
	 Submit a message through your online account any time Call Customer Service at 800-850-0228 between 7:00 a.m. and 5:15 p.m. Email Customer Service at ChildSupportCustomerService@doj.oregon.gov Mail to: Oregon Child Support Program, PO Box 14506, Salem OR 97309 Contact your case manager by phone or email Stop by your local child support office during business hours. Find locations and hours at OregonChildSupport.gov/locations How can the Oregon Child Support Program help keep my family safe?
42 USC 654(29)	If you are concerned about safety, contact us or your Oregon Department of
ORS 25.020 ORS 25.080 ORS 192.820 to ORS 192.868 OAR 137-055-1090 OAR 137-055-1140 OAR 137-055-1160	Human Services worker to discuss options. More information can be found at OregonChildSupport.gov/safety .



	What do I have to report to the Oregon Child Support Program?
ORS 25.020 50 USC §3901 et seq	Within 10 days of a change, you must update us with your new: Address Phone number Driver license number Employment (including your employer's address and phone number) Healthcare coverage for the children
	You can make changes through your online account or by contacting us.
	If you are an active duty servicemember, contact us. Letting us know your military status helps us protect your servicemember rights. See <u>OregonChildSupport.gov/veterans</u> .
	If I am the parent who pays support,
	do I have to pay by income withholding?
ORS 25.378 ORS 25.384 ORS 25.396	Usually, child support must be paid by income withholding. However, you may be able to make electronic payments from your bank account if:
OAR 137-055-4060 OAR 137-055-4080	You are current on your child support obligation, and • All participants agree (including any child attending school who is at least age 18 and under age 21), and
	 You have not been disqualified from electronic payments in the past 12 months.
	If you do not work for an employer, you may pay electronically or by check. See <u>OregonChildSupport.gov/payments</u> .
	If I owe past-due support, will you intercept my state or federal tax refunds? What about other federal payments?
26 USC §6402 31 USC §3716 42 USC §652(k) 42 USC §664 ORS 25.610 OAR 150-314-0248 OAR 137-055-4320 OAR 137-055-6022	Under federal law, if you owe past-due support to the state of at least \$150 or family arrears of at least \$500, the Oregon Child Support Program can intercept any federal income tax refund from the IRS to pay your past-due support.
	We can also intercept certain federal payments that might otherwise be paid to you, which includes expense reimbursements, travel payments, federal retirement payments, and payments to private vendors who perform work for a government agency.
	State law allows us to intercept any state income tax refund you may be receiving from the Oregon Department of Revenue if you owe past-due support. Intercepted state tax refunds are applied first to current support due, then to past-due support.
	We will send notice when your balance qualifies.
	If I owe past-due support, can I get a passport?
42 USC §654 ORS 25.625 OAR 137-055-4540	Based on federal law, if you owe more than \$2,500, the U.S. Department of State will refuse to issue you a passport. They may also revoke, restrict, or limit a passport that was previously issued. We will send you notice when your balance exceeds \$2,500 for the first time.



	If I am the parent who pays support, will you report my child support obligation to credit reporting agencies?
15 USC §1681a (j) 15 USC § 1681b 15 USC §1681d 15 USC §1681s-2 42 USC 666(a)(7) ORS 25.650 OAR 137-055-4560	Federal law requires the Oregon Child Support Program to report the name and past-due child support balance of any parent whose case is delinquent. Prior to reporting to consumer credit reporting agencies, we will send you a notice of our intent to report the delinquency. You have the right to contest the action or dispute the amount within 30 days of the notice date or pay as required within the 30-day period. Once reported, we continue to report and will notify the consumer reporting agency when past-due support is no longer owed.
	If I am the parent who pays support,
	what happens if my payment is rejected by my bank?
NACHA Rules & Guidelines Sec. V Ch. 45 and 46	The Oregon Child Support Program may try to deposit your rejected payment electronically up to two more times. Each attempt will show as a debit transaction on your bank statement. Dishonored payment fees may apply.
	What fees are required to receive child support services?
ORS 25.150 ORS 25.620 ORS 180.345 45 CFR 302.33 OAR 137-055-1080 OAR 137-055-6021	If you applied for child support services, we may deduct a \$1 fee from your first payment.
	Federal law requires an annual fee on child support cases only for families who have never received Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) cash benefits. The annual fee of \$35 is withheld from child support payments after the family receives \$550 during the federal fiscal year. The federal fiscal year runs from October 1 to September 30. No annual fee is charged if less than \$550 is collected.
	If we collect past-due support on your case from the paying parent's federal or state tax refund, a collection fee will be deducted from the amount distributed to the person receiving support. The IRS adjusts the federal fee every year. Effective October 1, 2024, the IRS fee is \$19.41 per collection from federal tax refunds. The Oregon Department of Revenue charges 3.5 percent of the amount collected from state tax refunds.
	Other fees may apply in certain circumstances.
	If I am the person who receives support, how will the Oregon Child Support Program send my support payments?
OAR 137-055-6020	We automatically send you a ReliaCard® Visa, which is a debit card in your name where we deposit your child support payments. If you would rather receive your payments directly in your checking or savings account, you may sign up for direct deposit.
	Find more information at <u>OregonChildSupport.gov/receivesupport</u> .



OR

	Can I have my child support order changed?
ORS 25.287 45 CFR 303.8	We can review and modify your order if it is at least 35 months old or you show proof of a substantial change of circumstances. The child support amount may go up or down. To request a review, go to Submit Forms under the Documents section of your online account, see OregonChildSupport.gov/forms , or contact us (see page 1). We cannot change parenting time or custody. See OregonChildSupport.gov/parentingtime . For legal assistance, contact an attorney or licensed paralegal.
	What if custody changes?
ORS 25.025 ORS 18.225 to ORS 18.235 ORS 25.527 OAR 137-055-5510	A court order that changes custody or parenting time may also change child support. If it did not change child support, contact us to request a review and modification of the support order.
	If physical custody changes temporarily, the parent who receives support may choose to "satisfy" the amount owed while the children are with the other parent. This tells the Oregon Child Support Program and the court that support is not owed for that period. To file a satisfaction, contact us.
	If the parent who pays support has physical custody of all the children for at least a month, the parent may request a credit toward past-due child support. Contact us to request a form (see page 1).
	What if I have a complaint?
OAR 137-055-1600	Our goal is to give you fair, professional, courteous, and accurate service. If you believe you did not receive high-quality service from one of our offices, contact a supervisor at that office. If you are unable to resolve the issue with the supervisor, you may contact Constituent Services at 503-947-4337. You can also submit a grievance form at any time. The form is available on our website at OregonChildSupport.gov/forms or at any Oregon Child Support Program office.
	If your complaint is about a decision or action required by federal or state law, we may not be able to resolve the issue. We will explain the reason for our decision.
	The Oregon Child Support Program complies with applicable federal civil rights laws and does not discriminate based on race, color, national origin, disability, religion, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age.

