

STATEMENT

Attorneys General Issue Bipartisan Statement Condemning Possible Violence in Response to Election Results

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Washington, D.C., November 4, 2024 — The National Association of Attorneys General (NAAG) released the following statement today on behalf of a bipartisan coalition of 51 attorneys general, led by Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost, Oregon Attorney General and NAAG President Ellen Rosenblum, Connecticut Attorney General William Tong, and Kansas Attorney General Kris Kobach:

"Regardless of the outcome of Tuesday's election, we expect that Americans will respond peacefully and we condemn any acts of violence related to the results. A peaceful transfer of power is the highest testament to the rule of law, a tradition that stands at the heart of our nation's stability. As Attorneys General, we affirm our commitment to protect our communities and uphold the democratic principles we serve.

We call upon every American to vote, participate in civil discourse and, above all, respect the integrity of the democratic process. Let us come together after this election not divided by outcomes but united in our shared commitment to the rule of law and safety of all Americans. Violence has no place in the democratic process; we will exercise our authority to enforce the law against any illegal acts that threaten it."

Participating States and Territories

Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

SPONSORING STATES

Dave Yost Ohio Attorney General

William Tong Connecticut Attorney General

Ellu

Ellen F. Rosenblum Oregon Attorney General

Kris Kobach Kansas Attorney General

PARTICIPATING STATES

Steve Marshall Alabama Attorney General

timulete Alailmath

Fainu'ulelei Falefatu Ala'ilima-Utu American Samoa Attorney General

Tim Griffin Arkansas Attorney General

Treg R. Taylor Alaska Attorney General

Kris Mayes Arizona Attorney General

Rob Bonta California Attorney General

Weise Tely

Phil Weiser Colorado Attorney General

Brian Schwalb District of Columbia Attorney General

hala

Christopher M. Carr Georgia Attorney General

rador Raúl Labrador

Kathleen Jonning

Kathleen Jennings Delaware Attorney General

Ashley Moody Florida Attorney General

Anne E. Lopez Hawaii Attorney General

Kwame Raoul Illinois Attorney General

Brenna Bird Iowa Attorney General

Idaho Attorney General

Liz Murrill Louisiana Attorney General

M.

Russell Coleman Kentucky Attorney General

Aaron M. Frey Maine Attorney General

in

age-

Anthony G. Brown Maryland Attorney General

Andrea Joy Campbell Massachusetts Attorney General

Minnesota Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Andrew Bailey

and

Dana Nessel Michigan Attorney General

Lynn Fitch Mississippi Attorney General

Mike Hila

C-54

Mike Hilgers Nebraska Attorney General

John M. Formella New Hampshire Attorney General

Raúl Torrez New Mexico Attorney General

Aaron D. Ford Nevada Attorney General

Missouri Attorney General

Matthew J. Platkin New Jersey Attorney General

Letitia James New York Attorney General

ah Stin

Josh Stein North Carolina Attorney General

Edward Manibusan Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Gentner Drummond **Oklahoma Attorney General**

North Dakota Attorney General

Drew H. Wrigley

Y, M A

Michelle Henry Pennsylvania Attorney General

Alan Wilson South Carolina Attorney General

Jonathan Skrmetti Tennessee Attorney General

Sean D. Reyes Utah Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha Rhode Island Attorney General

Marty Jackley South Dakota Attorney General

, C. Ahea

Gordon C. Rhea U.S. Virgin Islands Attorney General (Nominee)

Charty N. Oli

Charity Clark Vermont Attorney General

MAT W. F-

Jason S. Miyares Virginia Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson Washington Attorney General

PATRICK Momse

Patrick Morrisey West Virginia Attorney General

oshua S. Kaul

Joshua L. Kaul Wisconsin Attorney General

Bridget Siel

Bridget Hill Wyoming Attorney General