Meeting Minutes

Task Force on Community Safety and Firearm Suicide Prevention

Date: October 2, 2024

Time: 10:00 am to 12:00 pm

Location: Virtual via Teams

Call to Order, Roll Call

Attendees

Members in attendance: Dean Sidelinger, Valerie Colas, Donna-Marie Drucker, Paul Kemp, Kathleen Carlson, Vanessa Timmons, Emmy Ritter, Matthew Crabtree, Andrew White, Andy Leonard, Jerome Sloan II, Chris Burley, James Dixon Senator Floyd Prozanski, Representative Jason Kropf, Representative Rick Lewis

Staff in attendance: Kimberly McCullough, Christy Monson, Michael Kron, Emily Mooney, Toni Kemple

Members not in attendance: Senator David Brock Smith

SUBSTANTIVE DISCUSSIONS:

The meeting was recorded in full and is available online at the Task Force on Community

Safety and Firearm Suicide Prevention website: Task Force on Community Safety and Firearm

Suicide Prevention - Oregon Department of Justice

PRESENTATIONS:

- 1. Task Force Member Introductions Video time stamp 0:04:49
 - List of Task Force Members (see video time stamp 0:04:49)
 - Senator Floyd Prozanski (see video time stamp 0:06:27)
 - Representative Jason Kropf (see video time stamp 0:07:56)
 - o Representative Rick Lewis (see video time stamp 0:08:24)
 - Dean Sidelinger (see video time stamp 0:08:49)
 - Valerie Colas (see video time stamp 0:08:58)
 - Donna-Marie Drucker (see video time stamp 0:10:38)
 - o Paul Kemp (see video time stamp 0:13:22)
 - o Kathleen Carlson (see video time stamp 0:14:55)
 - Vanessa Timmons (see video time stamp 0:16:30)
 - Emmy Ritter (see video time stamp 0:17:17)
 - Matthew Crabtree (see video time stamp 0:18:34)
 - Andrew White (see video time stamp 0:19:39)
 - Andy Leonard (see video time stamp 0:22:18)

- Jerome Sloan II (see video time stamp 0:24:00)
- Chris Burley (see video time stamp 0:24:57)
- James Dixon (see video time stamp 0:26:37)

2. Senate Bill 1503 Overview – Video time stamp 0:28:47

PowerPoint presentation of Senate Bill 1503 by Kimberly McCullough.

- The charge of the task force (see video time stamp 0:29:44)
- Authority of the task force (see video time stamp 0:33:08)
- The task force will coordinate with several different entities. (see video time stamp 0:34:04)
- The task force may engage a research entity and has a budget of up to \$250,000 to pay for research (see video time stamp 0:36:00)
- Reports are due to the legislature (see video time stamp 0:37:39)

3. Task Force Rules – *Video time stamp 0:39:37*

- Must have a majority of voting member present to have a quorum
- Official action requires approval of a majority of the voting members
- Legislator members are nonvoting members and act in an advisory capacity only
- The task force has 13 voting members, so at least 7 are required for a quorum or vote
- Task force must elect a chair
- If there is a vacancy for any cause, the appointing authority (Senate President and House Speaker for legislators; Governor for everyone else) will appoint new members
- The task force may adopt "rules necessary for the operation of the task force"
 - Proposed working rules of order (see video time stamp 0:42:50)

4. Voting and Conflict of Interest – <u>Video time stamp 0:44:32</u>

Presentation by Christy Monson, AAG regarding what happens if a member is going to vote and feels like there might be a conflict of interest.

5. Public Records and Open Meetings Laws – <u>Video time stamp 0:50:34</u>

Presentation by Christy Monson, AAG. Overview of public records and open meeting laws as it applies to task force members (see video time stamp 0:51:04)

6. Chair Election – *Video time stamp 1:03:28*

Duties of the Chairperson

- Facilitate meetings with assistance from staff
- Work with members and staff to plan agendas, work plans and prepare reports
- Help maintain relationships with coordination partners
- Help with outreach for potential speakers for future meeting

Any member may be the Chair, including nonvoting members. However, only those who are voting members get to vote on who the chair is. (see video time stamp 1:05:00)

Request for interest in and nominations was made for the position of Chair. (see video time stamp 1:05:59)

MOTION

Motion to vote for Donna-Marie Drucker to serve as Chair of the task force. was made by James Dixon and seconded by Valerie Colas. The motion carried with 8 in favor, 1 opposed and 4 abstentions by roll call vote. (see video time stamp 1:05:00)

Voting members	For	Against	Abstain
Dean Sidelinger	Х		
Valerie Colas	Х		
Donna-Marie Drucker			Х
Paul Kemp	Х		
Kathleen Carlson	Х		
Vanessa Timmons	Х		
Emmy Ritter		Х	
Matthew Crabtree			Х
Andrew White			Х
Andy Leonard			Х
Jerome Sloan II	Х		
Chris Burley	Х		
James Dixon	Х		
Total	8	1	4

Discussion regarding having a co-chair for the task force. (see video time stamp 1:11:31)

MOTION

Motion to appoint Andrew White as co-chair was made by Valerie Colas and seconded by Emmy Ritter. The motion carried with 12 in favor and 1 abstention by roll call vote. (see video time stamp 1:14:54)

Voting members	For	Against	Abstain
Dean Sidelinger	Х		
Valerie Colas	Х		
Donna-Marie Drucker	Х		
Paul Kemp	Х		
Kathleen Carlson	Х		
Vanessa Timmons	Х		
Emmy Ritter	Х		
Matthew Crabtree	Х		
Andrew White			Х
Andy Leonard	Х		
Jerome Sloan II	Х		
Chris Burley	Х		
James Dixon	Х		
Total	12	0	1

7. Ratification of September 15, 2024 Task Force Report – <u>Video Time Stamp 1:16:40</u>

Brief overview of report and discussion regarding the report. Paul Kemp moved to vote on the report at the next meeting. There were no objections to moving this agenda item to the next meeting. Valerie Colas suggested that the report incorporate information about co-chairs and the first meeting. Kimberly McCullough will update the report and it will be included in the meeting materials for the next meeting.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Kimberly McCullough announced that she will be leaving the task force in October and introduced Michael Kron and Toni Kemple who will be assisting as staff for the task force. Donna-Marie Drucker provided closing comments and adjourned the meeting at 11:31 am.

DOCUMENTS REFERRED TO:

The following documents were discussed at the meeting and are available on request by emailing community.safety@doj.oregon.gov or visiting the website at:

https://www.doj.state.or.us/oregon-department-of-justice/office-of-the-attorney-general/task-force-on-community-safety-and-firearm-suicide/

- Senate Bill 1503, which established the Task Force in 2024
- 9-15-24 Task Force Report
- Meeting 1 PowerPoint

Next Meeting:

Date: November 4, 2024 **Time:** 10:am to Noon