

Child Advocacy Centers and Crime Victims' Compensation

Do I have to pay for services my child receives at the Child Advocacy Center?

Child Advocacy Centers do not charge families a fee for the services they provide. You should never have to pay out of pocket for services at a Child Advocacy Center.

The Child Advocacy Center will bill your private insurance, Oregon Health Plan (OHP), or Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) for the services they provide to your family.

What is Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC)?

Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) is a financial benefit managed by the Oregon Department of Justice. It helps families pay for certain expenses resulting from a crime.

Is my child eligible for CVC assistance?

Your child may be eligible for CVC assistance if they were a victim of a crime that fits all three of these criteria:

- The crime involved assault, domestic violence, sexual or physical abuse, or medical neglect.
- The crime happened in Oregon.
- You or someone else reported the crime to law enforcement or Child Protective Services.

How do I apply for CVC assistance?

The Child Advocacy Center will submit a CVC application on your behalf.

What if my child's CVC application is accepted?

The CVC program will contact you by mail or email in **60–90 days** to tell you their decision about your child's application.

If your child's CVC application is accepted, then expenses related to their injuries, such as counseling and/or medical services, may be covered.

Your child is eligible for this assistance until they are 21 years old, even if they don't use it right away.

After you are notified that your application is accepted, we recommend you do the following:

1. Go to doj.state.or.us/cvcportal and register for a CVC Portal account.



Oregon Department of Justice Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division

Every victim, every crime, every right, every time.

- 2. Once you're registered, send an email to CVSSDportal@doj.oregon.gov or call us at 503–378–5348 or 1–800–503–7983 and ask to have your portal account linked to your child's application.
- 3. Review the tutorial to see how you can use the portal to track and manage your child's application. Find the tutorial at doi.org/doi.org/doi.org/10.108/

Will CVC cover all my child's crime-related expenses?

If your child's application is approved, CVC may be able to cover out-of-pocket expenses for crime-related counseling, medical bills, rehabilitation services (like physical therapy), and mileage reimbursement for travel to medical or counseling treatment (only for traveling 60+ miles roundtrip).

Can my child get CVC assistance if they have medical insurance?

Families with insurance must use their private insurance benefits first.

If your child has private medical insurance, CVC can help cover deductibles and copays. CVC can also assist with services insurance doesn't cover, like crime-related counseling.

What if my child is enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan (OHP)?

Your child is eligible for CVC even if they are enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan (OHP). Just as with private insurance, families must use their OHP benefits first.

If your child needs services that OHP does not pay for, or if your child loses their OHP, CVC can then help cover crime-related expenses.

Will CVC cover counseling for me if my child is a victim of physical or sexual abuse?

CVC may cover counseling for parents and caregivers of children who were physically or sexually abused. The counseling must be related to your child's physical abuse or sexual abuse.

The main focus of counseling for parents and caregivers is to educate you about trauma and symptoms experienced by the child victim, and to give you tools to help in your child's healing.

If you think you may qualify for this benefit, we encourage you to contact CVC for additional information.

Questions?

Call us at 503–378–5348 or 1–800–503–7983

Ask for a **compensation specialist**.



Contact us

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division Oregon Department of Justice 1162 Court St. NE Salem, OR 97301

Phone: 503-378-5348 or 1-800-503-7983

Fax: 503-378-5738

Website: doj.state.or.us/victims
Email: cvssd@doj.oregon.gov

Accessible Materials

To learn about other ways to access this information and CVSSD programs, contact us.

Email: cvssd@doj.oregon.gov

Call: 503–378–5348 or 1–800–503–7983