

# Crime Victims' Compensation

Financial help for crime victims and survivors

The Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) program provides financial help to people who have been the victim of a violent crime in Oregon. Crimes that may qualify for compensation include domestic violence, sexual assault, child abuse, robbery, assault, homicide, or other crimes that cause physical or psychological injury.

CVC's mission is to ease the financial impact of violent crimes on victims, survivors, and their families.

## What Does CVC Pay For?

We pay for reasonable crime-related expenses, including:

- Up to \$20,000 for medical and counseling services
  - In cases of child sex abuse, counseling compensation can include counseling for the victim's family.
- Up to \$20,000 for grief counseling for survivors of a deceased victim
- Documented loss of earnings or support, up to \$400/week for a maximum of \$20,000 or \$600/week for crimes occurring after January 1, 2018
- Funeral expenses up to \$5,000
- Rehabilitation services, such as physical therapy, up to \$4,000
- Reimbursement of mileage (30¢ per mile) for travel to medical and mental health treatment, up to \$3,000
  - Mileage reimbursement is available only when someone must travel more than
    60 miles roundtrip and there are no closer services.
- Up to \$10,000 for counseling for children who witness domestic violence
- Up to \$1,000 for counseling for family members of an Oregon resident who is a victim of international terrorism
- Up to \$500 for counseling for friends or acquaintances of a deceased victim who discover the deceased victim's body

## Am I Eligible for CVC?

To receive financial help from CVC, you must:

- Be a victim of a compensable crime that happened in Oregon.
  Compensable crime means an intentional, reckless, or criminal act (not an accident) by a person that causes the injury or death of another person.
- Report the crime to the appropriate law enforcement officials within 72 hours.\*



## Oregon Department of Justice Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division

Every victim, every crime, every right, every time.

- 3. Cooperate with law enforcement. (This requirement is waived in cases of sex abuse, sexual assault, domestic violence, or stalking.)\*
- 4. Apply within 1 year of the crime.\*

## **Compensation for Counseling Only**

Victims of sexual assault, domestic violence, stalking, or human trafficking who do not meet all eligibility requirements may still qualify for compensation for counseling expenses. Look for the **Counseling Only application** in the CVC Portal or at <u>doj.state.or.us/compensation</u>.

You are not eligible for CVC compensation if:

- The injury or death resulted from your own criminal conduct.
- The crime involved only property damage or loss.
- The injury or death resulted from a noncriminal event (an accident).
- The crime occurred before CVC became effective in January 1978.

Processing of an application will be deferred if:

- You are incarcerated.
- You owe money as a result of a criminal conviction for a violent crime.

#### **How Do I Submit an Application?**

You can apply online, on paper, or in person.

- Apply online at the CVC Portal: <u>doj.state.or.us/cvcportal</u>
- Download a printable application form at <u>doj.state.or.us/compensation</u>
  Send or email the completed application to:

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 1162 Court Street NE, Salem, OR 97301–4096

Telephone: 503-378-5348

Fax: 503–378–5738 Email: cvssd@doj.oregon.gov

Apply at your local District Attorney's Office Victim Assistance Program.

## What Happens When I Submit an Application?

When CVC receives an application, we review police reports, medical charts, and any other information to determine if you are eligible for CVC benefits. We notify you by mail or email when we receive your application, and then again in **60 to 90 days** to tell you our claim decision.

<sup>\*</sup>These requirements may be waived for good cause.



## **Other Compensation**

If you have other benefits available (health insurance, auto insurance, workers compensation, or medical disability), you must use those before we will pay expenses. CVC will pay for copays, deductibles, and crime-related treatment that insurance does not cover.

If you receive crime-related money later (such as restitution or lawsuit settlements) for the same services CVC has paid for, you must pay back to CVC any money that was paid to you.

#### **Contact Us**

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division Oregon Department of Justice 1162 Court St. NE Salem, OR 97301

Phone: 503-378-5348 or 1-800-503-7983

Fax: 503-378-5738

Website: doj.state.or.us/victims

Crime Victims' Compensation Portal: doj.state.or.us/cvcportal

Email: cvssd@doj.oregon.gov

### **Accessible Materials**

To learn about other ways to access this information and CVSSD programs, contact us.

Email: cvssd@doj.oregon.gov

Call: 503-378-5348 or 1-800-503-7983