

Oregon State Law Regulating Ghost Guns and Undetectable Firearms

Requires Serialization of all Firearms and Unfinished Frames and Receivers Starting September 1, 2024

Beginning September 1, 2024, Oregon law will prohibit possession of firearms and firearm parts that do not have serial numbers, commonly called "ghost guns." After this date, the following items must have serial numbers:

- A firearm manufactured after October 22, 1968;
- · An unfinished frame or receiver.

After this date, possession of unserialized firearms or firearm components is a violation for first time offenses, with a fine of up to \$1,000. Repeat offenses are a crime that may result in higher fines and potentially jail or prison time.1

To comply, firearms, frames and receivers that do not have serial numbers can be taken to a federally licensed gun dealer (FFL) to be serialized. Visit your local gun shop and ask how you can get your items serialized. A list of FFLs in Oregon is available on the ATF website.²

Since July 2023, Oregon law also prohibits:

- The sale, transfer, and import of unserialized firearms, and unfinished frames and receivers without serial numbers, and:
- The possession, sale, and manufacture of firearms that cannot be detected by metal detectors or x-ray machines (known as an "undetectable firearm").

Oregonians who own guns without serial numbers will be in violation of the law after September 1. Please read to ensure you are in compliance!



What are Ghost Guns?



In 2023, the Oregon legislature passed HB 2005³, to better regulate "ghost guns" – firearms that do not include a serial number and are home-built or assembled using parts purchased separately. Ghost gun parts frequently are obtained online, and without a background check.

Ghost guns have created real risks to public safety. The ability to assemble a gun privately using components that do not require a background check allows individuals who are prohibited from buying guns to easily evade the law and make one at home.

In addition, because ghost guns do not have a serial number, they cannot be traced when they are used to commit a crime, preventing law enforcement from effectively investigating violent crimes.

Ghost guns are the fastest-growing gun safety problem facing our country. They are becoming a weapon of choice for violent criminals, gun traffickers, and others who cannot legally obtain firearms. They have also been used in incidents of gunfire on school grounds and unintentional shootings by children.



What are undetectable firearms?



Undetectable firearms are not readily detectable using walk-through metal detectors or x-ray machines like those commonly found at airports. As a result, undetectable firearms can evade security measures designed to prevent individuals from bringing firearms into sensitive locations where guns are not permitted. Undetectable firearms are made primarily from non-metal substances - including firearms made using 3-D printers.

1People convicted of possession of a firearm, unfinished frame, or unfinished receiver that has not been imprinted with a serial number would face a Class B violation, which carries a \$1,000 fine. Second offenses carry up to 364 days in prison, a \$6,250 fine, or both. Third offenses and beyond would carry up to 10 years in prison (Class B felony), a \$250,000 fine, or both.

²For more information: https://www.atf.gov/firearms/listing-federal-firearms-licensees.